Regional Headquarters of South Side’s Preparatory Committee Formed

Pyongyang, May 11 (KCNA) — A ceremony of inaugurating the Taegu-North Kyongsang Provincial Headquarters of the South Side’s Preparatory Committee for joint functions of Koreans in the south and the north and overseas to implement the June 15 joint declaration was reportedly held at Kyongbuk National University on May 6.

Present there were Han Sang Ryol, permanent representative chairman of the Reunification Solidarity, and more than 150 representatives of 85 civic and social organizations in the Taegu- Kyongbuk (North Kyongsang Province) region.

The ceremony elected 19 permanent representatives of the headquarters, 2 joint steering chairmen, 23 steering members and 2 secretary generals.

An inaugural declaration said that the June 15 joint declaration is the declaration for independence, peace and great national unity as it would put an end to the history of division and confrontation and usher in a new era of national reconciliation, unity and reunification and it is a milestone of reunification common to the nation because it paved a wide avenue for achieving peace and reunification by the independent forces of the nation.

It is necessary to solve the issue of national reunification by pooling the efforts and wisdom of Koreans responsible for it without depending on others, the declaration noted, stating that the organization would make every possible effort to free the Korean Peninsula from the potential danger of war and achieve peace this year which marks the 60th anniversary of the liberation of Korea and the 5th anniversary of the joint declaration.

Image credit: https://www.flickr.com/photos/davidstanleytravel/5063726592/

Related posts: