Winners of 28th Mangyongdae Prize International Marathon

Pyongyang, April 12 (KCNA) — The 28th Mangyongdae Prize International Marathon took place in Pyongyang on April 9.

Pak Chol and Jo Un Ok of the DPRK won the first place in men’s and women’s 42.195 km-long races.
Pak Chol of the Sajabong Sports Team bagged his third gold medal in this annual marathon to mark the Day of the Sun, the birth anniversary of President Kim Il Sung (April 15). Earlier, he breasted the tape in 2014 and 2016 marathon races. And he was selected as the DPRK’s best marathoner for 2016.
He has proved successful at different domestic races, including the 12th People’s Games, and was awarded silver medal at the 15th Asian Marathon Championship.
Jo Un Ok of the Amnokgang Sports Team clocked two hours, 29 minutes and 23 seconds for the 28th marathon, thus breaking her records set at the 2016 Mangyongdae Prize International Marathon and 2016 Beijing Marathon.
She won the gold medal at the half marathon race of the Great Eastern Women’s Run in 2016.

Image credit: https://www.flickr.com/photos/fljckr/2604178537/

Related posts: