Ceremony Held to Award Prizes to Winners of International Contest for Books and Literary Works

Pyongyang, August 16 (KCNA) – There was a ceremony of awarding prizes to the winners of the international contest for books and literary works at the People’s Palace of Culture on Wednesday on the occasion of the 5th International Festival in Praise of the Great Persons of Mt Paektu.

Present there were Kim Jong Suk, chairwoman of the Korean Committee for Cultural Relations with Foreign Countries, officials of the C.C., the Writers Union of Korea and the C.C., the Journalists Union of Korea and officials concerned.
Present there were personages of different countries who produced books and literary works in praise of the peerlessly great men of Mt Paektu.
Diplomas and prizes were awarded to 15 persons including Adamos Katsantonis, chairman of the Cyprus-DPRK Cultural Friendship Association, Argentinean Writer Jorge Luis Ubertali and Takashi Nada, representative of the Ehime Institute for Contemporary Korean Issue in Japan.
Diplomas of DPRK honorary writer and honorary journalist were awarded to M. Jahangir Khan, chairman of the Bangladesh Group for the Study of the Songun Policy, and Sergei, editor-in-chief of the Belarusian magazine Social Education.
Speeches were made at the ceremony.
Hyon Sung Nam, vice-chairman of the C.C., the Writers Union of Korea, congratulated the awardees and expressed belief that writers of different countries who love justice and peace would produce more good works in the future, too.
Abdoulaye Diallo, chairman of the Guinean Society for the Study of the Juche Literary Idea, said he deemed it honor to devote wisdom and enthusiasm to creating poems glorifying the feats of President Kim Il Sung and leader Kim Jong Il as an honorary writer of the DPRK.
He reiterated his will to devote himself to praising the peerlessly great men of Mt Paektu.

Image credit: https://www.flickr.com/photos/taver/15119340628/

Related posts: