DPRK Women Footballers Back Home

Pyongyang, December 19 (KCNA) — The DPRK women footballers returned home on Tuesday after winning the title of the 2017 EAFF E-1 Football Championship.

They defeated the teams of China, south Korea and Japan in the championship held in Japan on Dec. 8-16 and thus won the third straight championships along with victories in the championships in 2013 and 2015.
Kim Yun Mi of the DPRK was awarded the best player and top scorer and Kim Nam Hui the top defender and Kim Myong Sun the top goalkeeper in the championship.
The DPRK players and their coaches were greeted at Pyongyang International Airport by Choe Hwi, vice-chairman of the C.C., Workers’ Party of Korea who is chairman of the National Sports Guidance Committee, Ri Ryong Nam, vice-premier of the Cabinet who is chairman of the DPRK Football Association, and Kim Il Guk, minister of Physical Culture and Sports, and officials concerned.
Sportspersons and families warmly congratulated the players and coaches with garlands and flowers.
The players and their coaches visited the statues of President Kim Il Sung and leader Kim Jong Il on Mansu Hill and laid a floral basket and bouquets before the statues before paying tribute to the great leaders.

Image credit: https://www.flickr.com/photos/fljckr/1027752174/

Related posts: